Courageous


Hello, Friends.

As most of you know…I take a lot of peace and heart from music.  Sometimes a song that I have heard before will suddenly strike me in a completely different way.  That happened recently with the song Courageous by Casting Crowns.

I have post most of the lyrics below…with a few changes that I made…my apologies to the writer.  However, it is a song I truly need right now.  The thing that has struck me about the song is how much part of it can apply to us…the survivors of military sexual trauma.  The first part talks about being a warrior and then suddenly we become watchers on the sidelines.  How true that is!  Recently my dad gave me a wallet size copy of my basic training photo.  I blew it up a little bit and put it up at work and I can’t help but just look at that little girl some days.  I truly was a child…I was only 17.  However, I look like I am about 12!  I am holding a rifle and I am slightly smiling, my drill sergeant made me laugh, it wasn’t my fault!  The picture can best be described as “a moment of innocence and ignorance.” 

For me – one of the side effects of my trauma is that it has made me afraid to fight.  Afraid to stand up for what is right, because I know the cost.  I paid the price.  Now I am staring straight down the barrel of another fight!  I’m not going to stand on the sideline and be invisible.  I was once a warrior…I can be again!  Perhaps that is what the song is trying to remind me – is that there is still a fighter down inside – I just need to let her out.  The cause is a just cause.

When I decided to become a Catholic – I purchased a medal for my patron saint – Joan of Arc.  I asked a priest to bless the medal…but he did something that I have never seen since.  He prayed over the medal and then he prayed over me and said, “May you have the Courage of St. Joan.”  Of course – he knew nothing about why I had chosen St. Joan or my own personal story.  So it struck me as a very special blessing because we all need courage.

I truly believe that we will be the generation that breaks the chains of military sexual assault.  We will be the warriors that change this – free the prisoners – find the Justice.

We were made to be courageous, We were made to lead the way.

We could be the generation, that finally breaks the chains

We were made to be courageous…We were made to be courageous.

We were warriors on the front lines, standing unafraid,

Now were watchers on the sidelines, while the family slips away.

We were made to be courageous, and we’re taking back the fight.

We were made to be courageous, and it starts with us tonight.

The only way we’ll ever stand is on our knees with lifted hands,

Lord make us courageous! Lord make us courageous!

This is our resolution, our answer to the call.

We will love our brothers and sister, refuse to let them fall.

We will reignite the passion that we buried deep inside,

May the watchers become warriors, child of God arise.

Seek Justice – Love Mercy…walk humbly with your God.

Seek Justice – Love Mercy…walk humbly with your God.

In the war of the mind I will make my stand.

In the battle of the heart and the battle of the hand.

Lord make us Courageous!

This is my prayer for all of us.  That we may have the courage to do what needs to be done.  That we will stand in the face of fear and that God will bless the work of our hands.

Seek Justice…Love Mercy!

Peace be with you.

Joan

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

