Woman Veteran sexually harassed while going for rape counseling at the VA


This is from My Duty to Speak. It is an excellent blog that I follow! The reason I am sharing this is because I think I can help these women – or any woman in this situation. As you all know, I work at a VA Hospital. I don’t have any real power – but I have access to some really good people who do! NNot only do they have some power – they have access to people at the National level that REALLY have the power! Please, if you are going through all of this – please send me your story to: enemyinthewire@hotmail.com. DO NOT send me information like your full name, date of birth or the last four of your ssn. Just sign it with your first name and make sure I can reply to your email. I will do everything I can to make the right people aware of what is happening, of the sexual harrassment you are experiencing.

My Duty to Speak

Hello. I posted this several places. I hope that somebody at the VA can read this and do something about it. I am a 25 year old woman veteran suffering from Post Traumatic Stress Disorder that resulted from being raped while serving in the U.S Army. Every single time that I go for rape counseling at the Phoenix VA Medical Center I get sexually harassed by other patients. No matter how bad I look the harassment is inevitable.

One recent afternoon I was still crying after my counseling session. I was waiting for the elevator to go to another appointment. I had my head down and tears rolling down my cheeks when a man wearing a Vietnam Veteran ball cap came up to me, put his arm around my shoulders and told me that I am “too pretty to be crying”. I pushed him away from me and it offended him…

View original post 296 more words

Leave a Reply

