Christmas 2012


Hello, Friends.

Every year I struggle more and more with “finding the Christmas spirit.”  I don’t know, maybe it is because my kids are older, maybe it is because there is a whole lot of ugly in the world.  Maybe it is for no reason at all.

As I hustled to finish my Christmas shopping I turned on the Christmas music – but I still couldn’t feel it.  I wonder if this is what God had planned 2000 years ago.  A frantic time of cards and presents and cookies and candies.  Go to church and throw an extra 5 in the collection plate for the “poor.”

One of our VSO groups used to do a special Christmas thing for a family through our County offices.  You would pick up the list of a family with first names only and go shopping for them.  Wrap the gifts and then they would be delivered.  The first year we did it the kids asked for warm coats, boots…a football – if it can be done.  All simple little things.  Now, as time has progressed, they ask for things I can’t even afford for my own kids!  Gimme…Gimme…Gimme!!

I’m so tired of it all.  What do I want for Christmas?  I want reconciliation in my family between my middle son and my husband.  I want peace – true peace.  I want those who don’t have food to have food.  I want Christmas to mean what it is supposed to mean and for it to be Christmas all year long.  One song keeps running through my head:

Let there be peace on earth
And let it begin with me.
Let there be peace on earth
The peace that was meant to be.
With God as our father
Brothers all are we.
Let me walk with my brother
In perfect harmony.

Let peace begin with me
Let this be the moment now.
With every step i take
Let this be my solemn vow.
To take each moment
And live each moment
With peace eternally.
Let there be peace on earth,
And let it begin with me.

Let peace begin with me – grant peace and joy to all of us.

Peace,

Joan

Leave a Reply

