September 11, 2012


Hello, Friends.

Well – September 11 is here again.  Patriots Day!  Maybe some day someone will decide that this is a good day for a furniture sale or to blast 0% car financing across the TV to celebrate – but I can’t even begin to think about this day in celebration!  Actually – I can…but it is a very sad sort of party.

I celebrate all of you who serve or have served in the military – thank you for your service and your sacrifice. 

I celebrate the life of my friends M and B – who gave their lives in Iraq.  Everytime I hear this song – I think of you M – what a great NCO you were, what a great friend you were!  “Fire and Rain” James Taylor.

Been walking my mind to an easy time my back turned towards the sun
Lord knows when the cold wind blows it’ll turn your head around
Well, there’s hours of time on the telephone line to talk about things to come
Sweet dreams and flying machines in pieces on the ground

I miss the world that used to be – the world before 9/11.  I miss the peace and comfort my children should have been raised in.  I miss the days when “Memorial Day” didn’t hurt so much – because I had never lost anyone in combat before.

May the God of Peace and Love fill your hearts, comfort those who mourn and hold our brothers and sisters gently in the palm of his hand.

Joan

Leave a Reply

