I’m On A Mission


About 2 weeks ago, I wrote a letter to Governor Branstadt of Iowa, asking him to make a change in the Iowa National Guard. I pointed out that he was the Commander-In-Chief, like the President, and had the power to stop letting these predators keep on abusing us in the National Guard. I told him the statistics, how this has been going on for years, and how the Iowa National Guard is the worst offender. I begged him to do something, and asked what would he have done if his son had actually served, and been raped. Maybe that is why he hasn’t responded, I do not know. But that isn’t going to discourage me. I plan on writing him again and again and again, because I am just so stubborn, and pissed off.

But I have decided to take it a step or two farther, because that is just how I am. I have decided I am going to start an email campaign, and write all members of the Senate and also the House of Representatives, both state and federal. And then I am going to do the same thing for all states, including governors. I hope I can start some kind of movement, and encourage others to do the same thing. Remember, one voice in a storm can go unheard. Many voices in a storm cannot be ignored forever. Please join me in my mission.

You can find the email addresses and fax numbers for ALL Congress Members and Governors at the following website:  http://www.conservativeusa.org/mega-cong.htm

Below is the letter I wrote to Governor Branstad:

Dear Governor Branstad,

I would like to bring your attention to an article that was on the front page of the Cedar Rapids Gazette on Thursday, August 9, 2012. I am providing the link to it, in case you didn’t. It was titled ‘Local Veterans Speak Out About Military Sexual Trauma.” http://thegazette.com/2012/08/09/local-vets-speak-out-on-military-sex-assault/

I am a veteran, who tried valiantly to serve my country in the Iowa National Guard for over a decade, in spite of the fact that I was repeatedly raped, harassed and discriminated against. I am not the only one. In fact, I know of at least 20 women who suffered some of the same things I did while serving right here in the great state of Iowa. Nothing was ever done, we were all told it was our fault, we all were punished and branded as trouble makers, and Godd***ed Females. I lost my career over trying to make it stop. I even caused my unit to be investigated by the Inspector General’s Office. I attend a Female Veteran’s Retreat every year on the English River, and guess what the #1 topic is? Military Sexual Trauma and PTSD.

I even wrote a letter to The Adjutant General, pleading with him to make a change. Nothing has. Since I left the Iowa National Guard 14 years ago, other women veterans I served with told me of their rapes & harassment. I was so angry to find out my sacrifice accomplished nothing, and that it only got worse. I work with a man who served 20 years in the Army Reserves here in Cedar Rapids, and I asked him one day why he chose the Reserves over the Guard. He said it was because he couldn’t stand the way they treated the women, that the National Guard is the worse branch of the military for how they treat women. Unfortunately, I have heard this many times.

Pardon me for being so bold, but are you NOT the Commander-In-Chief of the Iowa National Guard? And as such, have you no power to make this stop, and stop immediately? Or do you agree with most of my own chain of command, that if a woman wants to be in the military, she gets what she deserves? Do you know in the military 1 in 3 women, and 1 in 10 men are sexually assaulted? What if your son served, and was raped? What would you do? 

What will you do now?

Thank You For Your Time,

Brigid

3 Responses to “I’m On A Mission”

  1. Myst Says:

    Sic ’em Brigid!!!! Excellent post! Thank you for this call to arms! It seems the STOP act may truly be our only hope for getting a real and meaningful change to this awful mess.
    Hang in there,
    Myst

  2. enemyinthewire Says:

    Myst,
    Thank you! I am hoping I can get many to join my cause. But if anything, maybe they will all get tired of hearing from me all the time. I wan’t to write one letter and be able to send it to all of them. I just haven’t quite figured out how to say it yet. I plan on sending it weekly to all of those who refuse to respond. Those that do respond will get personalized letters. It will only take one of them to get the ball rolling. But the more pressure we put on them, will hopefully get them to get all their heads out of their hind ends and get the ball rolling NOW.

    I am so sick and tired of the fact that we have to keep adding new staff and training them at the VA, soley to deal with MST victims & survivors. What is it gonna take? Seriously? That is only the smallest of bandaids to the problem, when what we need is a tornequet to amputate the predators and those who protect them!!!!!!!!

    Deep breaths Brigid, calm yourself!

    Sorry, I get a little riled sometimes! Hope you have a wonderful weekend!

    Brigid

  3. Myst Says:

    Being riled is good.. more folks need to be about this stuff for sure!
    hugs,
    Myst

Leave a Reply

