Dying Young


Hello, Friends.

I think that many of us joined the military because we had a dream we wanted to fulfill.  That dream has many facets.  For some it was money for a college education, some it was a chance to do something greater than ourselves, or maybe just a chance to serve our country and give back.  For myself, I wanted to get out of Nowheresville, serve my country, give back and make my Daddy proud.  I saw service to country as an opportunity to do something that not a lot of America had the courage to do.  Only 7% of the current US Population serves, or has served, in the Armed Forces.  To break it down – that means only 7% of us have the courage to protect 100% of your asses!  Being a good soldier is all I ever wanted to be.

These are the lyrics to a little tune from the movie, Rock Star.  The song is sung by Steel Dragon – but I think that the words are written by anyone who has watched their dream die in the face of reality.  I don’t know – could this be the new anthem for the MST survivor?

We All Die Young – Steel Dragon

Risk my soul, test my life
For my bread
Spend my time lost in space
Am I dead?
Let the river flow
Through my callused hands
And take me from my own
The eyes of the damned

It makes my stomach turn
And it tears my flesh from the bone
How we turn a dream to stone

And we all die young
Yeah we all die young

Tell me I know
I lived so afraid
And still we cry alone
With words left unsaid

Yeh it makes my stomach turn
And it tears my flesh from bone to bone
How we turn a dream to stone

And we all die young

I suppose you don’t have to actually lose your life to give your life for your country.  I do live in fear and I leave a lot of things that should be said in the dark places.  Even on this blog – I don’t use my real name – don’t talk about where I live and protect my secret above all else.  I guess I really connect with this song, even though hard rock isn’t my style, I know what he means when he says, “It tears my flesh from bone.”  It doesn’t go away, either.  Every time I learn of a “new member of the club” it breaks my heart. 

Have a day of Peace and Joy!

Joan

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Dying Young”

  1. Myst Says:

    Wonderful and tragic lyrics.. will have to see if I can find the song on yourtube or someplace. I understand protecting your secret, especially because you have family that can still be hurt by it. Myne is all gone, only some cousin’s and aunts and uncles left, but they are all very supportive. Ours has been an ugly path but we have survived, and damn it, we will get better and I pray, that our pain and our experiences will fuel real change so that no other service person has to suffer through what we have!
    Hugs,
    Myst

  2. enemyinthewire Says:

    The video is on You Tube – it is a good song!

Leave a Reply

