Apple Bins


Hello, Friends,

With all of the talk in the media about The Invisible War – I feel compelled to say this…”It only takes 1 rotten apple to spoil the whole bin.”  In other words, not every man that I served with was a piece of shit!  I sometimes feel as though I am saying that every man in the military is a rapist – and that just isn’t true.  So, I thought I would share some of the good times – great times – with you.

To my Drill SGT’s…You spoiled me rotten!  I can never think of you and not smile.  You taught me the greatest lessons in leadership and service and when faced with a tough decision…I still ask myself, “What would DS-K or R do?”  You didn’t talk to us about leadership, you showed us, through your words, actions and deeds.  I hope I made you proud.

To the Infantry, Engineers and all the other Combat units I supported:  Thanks for your friendship!  I will never forget the first time one of you yelled, “Thanks, Doc!”  That meant the world to me.  Every medic knows that “Doc” is a term of affection reserved for the medics that have earned your respect.  Thank you for letting me be, “Just one of the guys.”

To Top and LT and the CO at A Co.:  Thanks for teaching me to be a soldier.  Top – thanks for running beside me and never letting me quit.  LT…thanks for the great times and for teaching me that Loyalty comes from the Top – Down…before it comes from the Bottom-Up.  CO – thanks for your guidance and for caring about me as a soldier.

To the Majors in 2001:  What a time we had!  Serving with you in that year for that special event was one of the best times in my whole life!  Your dedication to your troops is an inspiration.  The faith you put in me was humbling and I hope I lived up to the standards you set for me.  I still read that citation your wrote and laugh out loud.  I got rid of a lot of stuff when I left the military – but that citation, the medal and the T-Shirt…I kept!

To Supply Guy, Ready Man and JK – I really miss serving with you three nut jobs!  We had so much fun and so many wild times together in the office.  I loved the “staff meetings” around the picnic table when all rank came off and really great ideas came to life.  Thank you for being my friends through thick and thin.  Ready Man – thank you for risking your career to procure necessary documents for me.  Supply Guy – thank you for your conspiring with me to drive the boss crazy!

I could go on and on…but most of it doesn’t make sense to anyone who wasn’t there.  The important point is that not every guy in the Military is a pig.  I think I feel bad for the good guys most of all.  They are getting painted with the same lousy paintbrush.  Thrown into the cider mill with the “bad apples” in their bins. 

It’s too bad, really.  Many of those men have served honorably and some have given their lives for their country.  Now – the “military hating media” is going to call them rapists – just like they called the men of Vietnam “babykillers.”  I hope that this small post lets people know that not every soldier is a SGT Jerk or a Clarence.

Peace,

Joan

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Apple Bins”

  1. Myst Says:

    As always, and excellent post and points! There were many good folks in for sure, and many great memories! But that one bad apple? Can sure ruin it for a bunch of others.
    Stay strong Warrior Sister!
    Myst

  2. enemyinthewire Says:

    Unfortunately – it is that one bad apple that will ruin everything – even the good times. Keep up your great work! I try to read your blog everyday!!

Leave a Reply

