Still Alive


Hey, Friends.

Great news…Brigid and I are still alive!  I know that is hard to believe since you haven’t heard from either of us for a while.

As most of you know, Brigid was incredibly ill back in Jan and Feb and she is still struggling with the after effects of blood clots in her lungs.  I have been crazy busy with two teenagers who are driving me quickly insane.  My 16 year old has spent his summer in a drug/alcohol rehab facility and my 14 year old got herself wrapped up with some of his friends.  My son will be released this week – and so far – my daughter seems to be doing better.

That is all I have been able to think about.  I know that I can’t blame myself for their choices, but I can’t help but feel that their mistakes are my fault.  You want your kids to have a better life than you do…you did…but there are some things that you just can’t change…as much as I would like to.  Some of those things I don’t feel okay talking about here – even though it is anonmymous.

Brigid is STILL waiting on VBA to rate her claim.  It seems like the more Washington D. C. says…”We are speeding things up!” The more they slooowwww doowwwn.  Her comp and pen was in April.  Hell, I guess if it impacted their lives they would speed up – but since we Veterans are just some random people who are sucking on the system – it doesn’t matter much anyway.

I feel the words of an old Army buddy coming back to me – “It don’t mean nothing.”  I know – I just keep reminding myself.  None of it really means anything.  It doesn’t change anything.  You can’t wrap yourself in a VA rating or in a compensation payment when you can’t sleep.  It doesn’t change the fact that people look at you and say – “Why do you have a disability rating?” 

Anyway, we are still alive.  We will get back to the blog very soon.  In fact, I need to start writing again regular – but life has gotten in the way.  One nice thing about being so busy…you don’t have any time to think.

Besides – it don’t mean nothing, anyway.

Peace,

Joan

Leave a Reply

