Voices


Hello, Friends.

It has been a while since I have dropped by to write.  There has been so much going on that I have had no heart and no time.  Brigid has been very ill – I was terribly afraid she was going to die on me.  She is recovering.  Next week is her Comp and Pen appt – I am going with her.  She shouldn’t have to do this alone.  I know that the things I will hear will be hard on me, but they are harder on her.  Love means being there – even when it hurts.  I am proud to stand beside her.

Today is a big day for me.  In fact, I have every butterfly in the Western Hemisphere trapped inside of my stomach.  I am giving a major presentation today about Sensitive Practice in Healthcare to my VA.  I did buy a new outfit – not off the clearance rack, either!  That is a big step for me…ask Brigid.

Part of this presentation is incorporating the voices of us survivors into examples for the staff and nurses.  Brigid lends her voice, so does Jay, and so do I.  Thank goodness for a little Multiple Personality Disorder 😉  I can talk about Joan as though she is another person…and not myself.  Our voices have weight – I think there is a lot that we can do for one another – even if it is anonymously. 

So I, myself, will talk about my precious friends, Jay and Brigid.  I will talk about Joan – I will give her a voice.  Yet I will talk about them without pretending that I love them and know them.  And I will talk about them as if it is not me, myself and I.

So if you read this – pray for me today.  I will be thinking of all of you!

Joan

Leave a Reply

