Happy New Year


Dear Friends,

2010 is coming to an end.  There have been happy moments and there have been days that were just too tough to mention.

May everyone’s 2011 be shiny and bright.  May you find joy and happiness.  May love surround you with each step you take.

My hope for you is that the best days of your past will be the worst days of your future.

Blessings and Peace

Joan

2 Responses to “Happy New Year”

  1. BJ Says:

    Joan – Thanks for your comments, but it seems you’ve misread what I wrote. What I said was ‘hogwash’ was the idea that it is unsafe for women to serve. It isn’t. No, I never once was dismissive of rapes and MST. I’m very much aware of those issues. I remember as a teenager my Mum telling me my Uncle Jay had been ‘raped by homosexuals when he was in the Navy’. I remember her telling me how angry my dad, Frank, was when he found out about it. As to my ‘leadership’, I have stood up for my troops when needed and don’t put up with anyone abusing or misusing them. My rank is E-7 in case you’re wondering. When any of my troops said things to me that made me think they were being abused or discriminated against, I asked them exactly what was going on in order to get to the bottom of it and make sure nothing was happening. I know what sexual misconduct and harassment is. The Air Force has a “Zero Tolerance” policy. Not long ago, I sent a message to a Soldier’s former first sergeant telling him about the abuse and sexual misconduct the Soldier may be guilty of. Don’t ever think for one blessed minute I have no clue about MST or that I would ever put up with it. I think you need to read exactly what I wrote, because your response indicates you totally missed my point. Maybe you didn’t see these statements: “I don’t deny there have been rapes in the Military–there have. Yes, some of those who reported those rapes have been mistreated by the system, but that is not the norm. There are dozens of ways the military protects victims of rape. We have Restricted and Unrestricted Reporting to protect the privacy and rights of the victims. At Ramstein, shortly after I got here, someone was arrested for male-to-male rape at Ramstein.” Do these statements sound like someone who doesn’t believe it when I hear reports of those suffering from MST? You may not be aware that I’m the one who looked at Uncle Jay’s DD214 and tried to advise him on what he should do to. I told him he should not keep changing his story. One week, he was saying he was not guilty, he didn’t do drugs, he didn’t sell drugs, and the next week, he was saying he ‘admitted everything’. I got on him for that, yelling, “Why did you do that? You can’t keep changing your story! No wonder the VA doesn’t know what to do with you!” He laughed about it. Contrary to what you may be led to believe, those of us in the Herron family do love Uncle Jay. My dad, Frank III was not the monster he’s made out to be on the blogs. I’m sure you can understand how difficult it would be to have your own career in the service, be a young E-4 with a family, only to have your little brother assigned under you. I’m sure you also know exactly how much sway and power an E-4 actually has. My dad was just an E-4 when all this stuff was going on. My Mum, who adores Uncle Jay, even refuted the handcuffs by older brother story as she, too, was there when we went to get Uncle Jay. You should be aware there is much more to this story than what you’re getting on these blogs. I do appreciate your support and friendship to my Uncle Jay and am sorry for what you had to go through in your military career. There is no excuse for what happened to you. As I said, I learned of Uncle Jay’s rape when I was a teenager and believed it. Why wouldn’t I? Every time I hear of someone being raped, I get the urge to grab my pistol and a few rifles and ‘go hunting’. Don’t ever get the idea I would ever put up with any of my troops being mistreated.

  2. enemyinthewire Says:

    B. J.

    I’m sorry if you feel that I misunderstood your comments. Thank you for taking the time to post.

    There are always three sides to the truth – “my side, your side, the truth.” Please know that it is normal to see some fluctuations in a person’s story – it is part of the PTSD relating to MST. I am not discounting what you are saying – but the problems that this causes are monumental. Especially, when it has been left untreated for a long period of time. Believe it or not – I lived a relatively normal seeming life for a very long time until other incidents caused things to come flooding back. In therapy, I recalled things that I had buried because of the traumatic nature. I know that it can be very frustrating for those around us.

    With the current numbers of MST that we are seeing in the military right now – I would have to say that it is “unsafe” for anyone to serve. (I work in advocacy so I receive lots of “numbers” directly from reliable sources) I am very, very glad that things in your unit seem to be functioning well.

    When you hear things that are as awful as MST is – it is perfectly normal to believe that we are rare exceptions. Perhaps we are not “the norm” but when you consider the statistic of 1 in 3…we are much more “normal” than many people realize.

    The Army also has a “zero-tolerance” policy. Policy are only as good as the people who enforce them. It sounds like you are doing a very good job of being a committed NCO and taking care of your people. I thank you for that.

    Joan

Leave a Reply

