Wonderful Good News


Hello, Friends!

A special thank you to everyone for their prayers!  The test results are in and I DO NOT have breast cancer.  We don’t know what is wrong…but we do know that it isn’t cancer.

Brigid…I’m verklempt!  You know I love you and feel the exact same way!

It is so very hard making friends for me.  I’m a bit on the goof ball side and I sometimes try to hard.  I grew up very lonely in many ways – the butt of a lot of people’s jokes.  I grew up in a very small town and I never had the right clothes or the right things or the right friends.  It usually ends up in the place of being heartbroken – wondering what is wrong with me.  I can actually list on one hand the number of truly “best friends” I have ever had…with only one listed as the bestest friend ever.

It reminds me of a line from the movie “Practical Magic” –

 “We’ll grow old together. It’s going to be you and me living in a big house… these two old biddies with all these cats. I bet we even die on the same day.”

Everytime I hear that line or see that movie I can’t help but think of Brigid and I.   That is the plan…two old biddies who go together on the same day!

Our friendship has outlasted marriages and most other relationships in our lives.  No matter what – I know that she is always there and that I can always call her and she will answer right away.  We share a horribly strange sense of humor.  On the phone last night – after we rejoiced about the good news she said she had very, very bad news.  “You are stuck with the pair God gave you!”  How hard we laughed and how good it felt!  (knowing that in the event of a major problem I would have had my breasts removed.)

A best friend is the most precious gift in the whole wide world…I never have to put on an act, or “play dumb” or be anything but what I am.  I can say anything – feel anything – think anything…and she will never tell me that I am “stupid” or make fun of me.  It is always a two-way street – she can do the same and I will always think of her as kind, loving, intelligent, beautiful and funny!

I think that is part of the purpose of this blog.  Putting ourselves out there even though it is anonymously.  No matter the ways that we are the same and the ways that we are different, we have one very strong bond that creates a friendship that is very rare, we both know the pain of betrayal.  We were both betrayed by people we called “friends.”  That is something that is a common thread in Military Sexual Trauma. Whether it was the person that committed the act or the people who were supposed to protect us…we were betrayed.  The people that knew the truth and refused to speak betrayed us.  They violated us in a way that is sometimes worse that the attack itself.  At least, that is how it feels to me at times.  As a result, I think that we gravitate towards friends who really understand and know the triggers.

We talk one another “off the ledges” because that’s what friends do.  We are the ultimate “battle buddies” – we promise to never leave one another behind…no matter what.  It is a rare and special feeling to know that someone always has your back – and for that – I will love you forever, Brigid!

Blessings,

Joan

4 Responses to “Wonderful Good News”

  1. Jerry Says:

    That was very nice. My mother passed away 5 years ago and I’m finally disposing of some of her keepsakes, most of which are cards that were sent to her from lifelong friends. I found a few letters from my Dad, but, he died 40 years ago. Didn’t see too much from the other 2 Husbands. HAHA. Peace, Jerry

  2. enemyinthewire Says:

    thanks, Jerry! Always great to hear from you. Yeah – my ex-husband and I aren’t much for sending cards either 🙂

  3. enemyinthewire Says:

    Joan, you made me sniffle all over again! Guess had to pay me back, didn’t ya? Love you!.

    OK, you brought it up, but do you remember when it was that you saw Practical Magic? Do you? I do. It was 3-11-99, the night before I went to Ireland to honor my father. I refused to sleep all night, because of my fear of flying, and was hoping that I would be able to get on that plane and sleep. You were so sweet and kind, and your then hubby Orca allowed you to come and stay up with me all night, and we watched that movie. I remember when we watched it, I thought they really resembled us.

    As always, I gotta say, you are the bestest friend in the world. And I am so happy that you are going to be around for soooooo many more years. But I am sorry that you are stuck with the set that God gave you. Because if you would have had to get fake ones, I would have made sure you didn’t have to go through that all alone, I would have got some too! 😉

    Brigid

  4. enemyinthewire Says:

    Brigid,

    I remember that night very, very well! I finally got home after we were up all night watching movies and laughing…and I got a call because your poor dog was injured.

    That night was sooo much fun! We really had a great time! I bought that movie and everytime I see it I can’t help but think of us.

    Don’t you hate it when they steal your life and put it in the movies? (Minus the witch stuff and killing people…of course.)

    LOVE YA!

    Joan

Leave a Reply

