Doing Away With an Injustice


Which one of these is the “gay” servicemember?

 Good question…huh?  It is hard to tell from this angle.  As a matter of fact, in my years in the military I served with a number of homosexuals and many of them I didn’t even know they were gay until sometime later.

People seem to have this impression that if we allow gays to serve in the military we will have people doing “inappropriate” things in a foxhole.  As though a heterosexual soldier can control his or her “urges” but a homosexual soldier can’t.  Well, if I may be so bold to speak for all of us Military Sexual Trauma survivor…the “straight” troops don’t always do so well at “control” either!

There is a time to “grow-up” and the time is now.  If a person loves their country enough to offer their lives for the person next to them, then they should be allowed to serve with dignity and with honor!  Race, Creed, Religion, Political Status should not matter and neither should the person’s sexual orientation, so long as that person makes a choice to serve in a professional manner.  That doesn’t just go for a homosexual…it applies to heterosexuals as well!  NO one should be humping in a Foxhole and I don’t think that you can make a correlation between common sense and sexual orientation.  The rules are the rules and they apply, or should apply, to everyone.

I think that people have this overwhelming idea that we will have servicemembers showing up in “drag” or something.  Don’t you think that your average person (straight or gay) realizes that you have to follow military regulations! 

That’s right, boys and girls…it IS time to grow up.  It is time to realize that a “gay” soldier can die for their country just like a “straight” soldier can.  You really think bullets and bombs care if someone is gay? 

Then why do we?

Peace

Joan

Tags: , , ,

8 Responses to “Doing Away With an Injustice”

  1. Jerry Says:

    Hi Joan, Yes, The Uniform Code of Military Justice is what we adhere to while we’re serving our country. I was a Navy Corpsman and there were alot of gay, Doctors, Nurses and corps. I worked at a Regional Medical Center in CA. I was assaulted by the Barracks gaurd. I had worked a 3-11 shift at the Hospital and returned to the Barracks. The kitchens were secured areas and you had to go to the front desk to get the key. While I was in there making myself something to eat, he came in there and attacked me, beat me, sodomized me, and told me he would kill me if I told anyone. I didn’t even know something like that could happen to someone. It was a very scarring experience and I haven’t had a normal life where personal relationships are concerned. As I approach 50, I hope no young people serving our country have to have a wasted,unhappy life. Trying to get help for it was like be tortured again but we’ll talk about that later. Peace, Jerry

    • enemyinthewire Says:

      Hi, Jerry.

      Thank you for coming by and for sharing. All I can say about what you have experienced is that, I’m sorry. I truly am. I know what it is to be assaulted as a female – but in many ways I think that you men have it much worse than we do. Even though the things that are said about us women are deeply cutting, “she asked for it” the things that are said about men are even worse.

      You are absolutely right – No one should serve their country and be treated the way that we were treated. I was “prepared” to be raped and tortured by the “enemy” – but I never signed up to be raped and tortured by the very people who were supposed to be my brothers-in-arms.

      Peace and Blessings!

      Joan

  2. Jerry Says:

    Thank you for your kind words. I support gays in the military. This was not a gay issue. It was an issue of violence and assault. I certainly did nothing to provoke being attacked. I was a 135 lb. kid. Our society has changed and we victims will be vindicated. I may start telling my story to the media in the future. I would like to work with the VA on this as I joined the military because I love my country and what it stands for. Freedom for all. Peace, Jerry

  3. enemyinthewire Says:

    Jerry,

    None of us signed up for this and the military and the DOD just seem to love blaming the victims of MST. They refuse to acknowledge that in cases of same gender sexual assault – neither the victim nor the perpetrator are homosexual. Rape is never about sex…it is always about power and control. I was very small when a much bigger (and overweight) NCO spent the last 6 months of his career backing me into corners in the closet sized office he had. The more I fought – the more excited he became – and sometimes I would be so very tired that I just stood there while he humped my leg like a dog. Although he never completed the act of rape – it has left parts of my life in shambles. More the betrayal of trust than anything else. I think he got more of a “kick” out of watching me trying to avoid him and his office than he ever got out of slobbering all over my neck.

    My love of country is something that has never changed. I joined the military out of a love for America and I continue to fight for our rights for the same reasons.

    Stay strong! Peace and Blessings

    Joan

  4. Matzpen Says:

    The YMCA and 60% of Fortune 500 companies extend domestic partnership benefits to their gays and lesbians, so why can’t the the U.S. Government do the same?
    http://sherrytalksback.wordpress.com/2010/10/28/ymca-to-obama/

  5. Jerry Says:

    They will, we’re just getting ready to turn the page. We are a powerful voting block that can make or break an election. I believe both parties realize now that the only way for them to survive is to move to the center. We need centrist leaders, Republicans and Democrats alike, working on behalf of all Americans, regardless of race, creed, religion or sexual preference. I am disatisfied with our current administration as promises that were made to us in 2008 have not come to fruition. Whoever you vote for, just get out and vote!!

  6. enemyinthewire Says:

    Matzpen,

    Thank you for commenting. You are right…many of us, even those of us who are relatively “conservative” in our beliefs, feel that any form of discrimination is just wrong. We don’t have to agree with everyone to respect and love everyone. My son, who is 17, was shocked to hear that I have no issues with people who are gay serving in the military or receiving the same benefits as married people.

    Perhaps when we come to a place when we see people as people we will see an end to things like Military Sexual Trauma. After all, those who victimized me saw me as something to be used, abused and tortured. Why would I even consider treating someone in the same way I was treated? Failing to see the “person” is what has lead to centuries of abuse in all cultures. Expansionist did not see the “people” when they decimated and destroyed Native Americans, Hitler did not see “people” when he murdered Jews, Gypsies, Homosexuals and the Disabled. Racial divides never see the “people” – just the color. I could go on and on for hours about injustices.

    “All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing” Edmund Burke

    I bring forward as an example, NOW President Terry O’Neill. President O’Neill stepped forward and demanded that all of the misogynistic comments that are going on in this year’s campaign come to an end. To paraphrase, she said that even though NOW does not support or endorse Delware Senate Candidate Christine O’Donnell, she also doesn’t agree with what amounts to Public Sexual Harrassment. Bravo Ms. O’Neill! I may be a very conservative Catholic, Right-Wing type that hardly ever agrees with NOW’s political positions…but I want to applaud you! That took courage – to publicly defend a Republican candidate that stands against most everything that NOW stands for – and courage is something special these days.

    However, that is the exact point I am trying to make. We must have courage and stand up for one another. To stand out against cruelty and discrimination and harrassment in any form it takes. We can always disagree on things but we can do it in a way that bonds us…not divides us.

    But for some stupid reason, the Federal Government seems to think that some people count and some people don’t. They know about Military Sexual Trauma – but they just don’t care.

  7. Jerry Says:

    The only thing any of us can do is to continue to speak out about this publicly. Peace, Jerry

Leave a Reply

