Waiting for the World to Change


That song is running through my head today.  Mostly because that is what I feel like I am doing.

I lack patience…always have.  When I want something to happen I want it to happen right now.  Of course, as a mostly rational adult, I know that it is not possible. 

Change is a marathon…not a sprint.  When we sprint we worry about winning the race, being the first to the finish line.  We are going for distance here and it isn’t about losing…it is about finishing. 

I try to think about this from the standpoint of physical training – remember running in formation?  Everyone stuck together.  The fastest slowed down their pace and the slowest tried to kick it up a notch.  Tall people  moderated their steps and those of us who were short stretched it out a little bit.  Everyone sacrificed.  We worked as a team to finish together.  To win as a team.  We called together in one voice – motivated one another – high-fived those who completed the run.  We were one in purpose – one in family – one in victory.

There are those of us out there advocating the best we know how.  Sometimes we stumble.  Sometimes we fly.  We are also one in purpose – brothers and sisters – leading the entire team across that finish line.  Sometimes carrying our weak – sometimes being carried by those stronger than ourselves.  We are not alone.  You are not alone.

  Today I guess I just need to know that I am not the only one.  Today I am just thanking God for those that I know are standing with me.

Still – waiting for the world to change.

Joan

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

