Ranger Wags Part 7


On 19 July 1997, I was walking from the shop to the Armory around 1400 hours in the afternoon, and 1SG Wags was behind me. He asked me what I was going to buy him for a going away present. I was confused at first, because I forgot that he was supposed to be retiring in September 1997. I told him that I didn’t know what I was going to give him. He said that I had better think of something good for him. I said that I would be willing to give as much money as it took to get rid of him. He told me to follow him into the weight room, and told me that I had to get George off his back about finding out if he was eligible to go to PLDC without a High School Diploma. So I said that I would talk to him, but I had to get back to work, because I didn’t want SFC H to think I was goofing off, and I was afraid that I would get in trouble for being gone too long. He told me if anyone asked me why I was gone so long, I was to tell them that I had business with the 1SG, and if they had any questions, I should send them to him. I thanked him, and then went back to work.

An hour later, I was smoking a cigarette, and 1SG Wags and some other people were smoking as well. After a while it was just me and 1SG Wags. Out of the blue, he said, “I know what it is that you can give me for a going away present. How about one last fling for the road?” I said that it was a long time ago. He just chuckled and said that it was what I could give him. I told him that I wasn’t 18 anymore, and I wasn’t single anymore. Then he asked me what had happened to me on Sunday of May’s drill, and I informed him that I was sick. He said it must have been a case of the brown bottle flu. I said that I never had a hangover that lasted for 3 days, and that I had missed work. I told him that if he had any questions, he should ask SSG K.

He asked me whatever happened to ‘our’ hotel, and I told him that it had been turned into a battered women’s shelter. He went on to say that he could remember how he worked me in October 1987, to get me to enlist. And he remembered almost to the day that I enlisted (he said 14 April 1988, he was only off by one day). He said, “See, I bet you didn’t think that I remembered that, did you?” I said that I was surprised. He kept on talking about the ‘good old days’ and our relationship. I asked if that wasn’t around the time that he had separated from his wife, and he said yes, but he was considering murder now. I said that I could understand completely, because I didn’t know if George and I would be getting a divorce before he went to AT that year, but we had managed to work things out. He asked what George had done, I just told him that he had been a very bad boy, and I had told SSG K that it was a bad idea to ut a loaded weapon in my hands at range fire back in April. (Side note-George cheated on my with one of my best friends and fellow soldiers). But I told 1SG Wags that everything was fine now, and we had worked it all out, and that was a big part of the reason why I was sick in May. 1SG Wags again mentioned our ‘fling,’ and asked if George knew about it. I said yes, and that George knew all about the letters as well. 1SG Wags said, “My God, do you tell him everything?” I said yes. Then he said that he would really like to have one last fling, and I again informed him that I wasn’t 18, or single anymore, and that I was not interested, and then I left.

Yeah, it only gets worse…

Brigid

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

