Strange Days – Race, Death and Tow Trucks


Hello, Friends,

I had a very strange experience at work on Friday.  I had decided to run out and grab some lunch – some days I get so sick of brown bagging – you know how it is.  I work in a college community, so there are a lot of people walking and on bikes.  I wasn’t paying a whole lot of attention to what I was doing and as I pulled out of the drive-thru and prepared to make a left hand turn I noticed a young black male walking up the sidewalk.  I looked at where my vehicle was in comparison to the sidewalk and realized that I had parked my car right where he wanted to walk…How Rude!  I must have made a funny sound because he looked at me and said, “Relax, Lady…I’m not going to hurt you!” in a very disgusted tone.  I replied very quickly – no, that’s not what I was thinking – I am sorry I parked on top of the sidewalk.  (My car window was down because it has been hot, hot, hot, hot, and hot!)  He told me not to worry about it and I said again that I was sorry – but it bothered me all day.

It never, ever crossed my mind that this young black man would harm me in any way.  Admittedly, sometimes men distrurb me, but it is mostly men that I know and it is never about their race or skin color.  Actually, I thought he was kind of cute.  Sorry, but I did – just being honest.

It makes me wonder what is going on right now in this country!?  I’m sure that you have seen it, black on white and white on black racism.  Is it just me, or are we about to live through the 1960’s all over again?  (I missed it the first time – but it doesn’t sound like something we really need to repeat.)  Honestly, we are back in a war that our troops CAN win – but our politicians are too concerned about “hurting any feelings” to let it get done.  Now we are worried about racial violence in ways that I have never seen and it is bleeding into our everyday lives.

There is a funeral for an Air Force officer today killed in the line of duty in a theater of war.  WBC (Westboro Baptist Church – although they are unaffiliated with ANY Baptist congress) is there protesting.  Holding up their signs that say things like, God Hates Fa***ts (sorry – hate that word!) and Thank God for Dead Soldiers.  Is it legal – sure.  Is it protected under the 1st Amendment – absolutely.  Is it morally upright – NO!

We also had our County Fair this week.  There was a misunderstanding about parking, traditionally people park trucks on the back side of the show ring to watch events.  Our friend parked our truck out there Thursday morning.  There were questions so it was double checked with a Fair Board member.  Thursday evening we got a call at 6pm from another Fair Board member that we either needed to move our truck or pay $50.00 parking fee.  We said we would be out, stopped and grabbed dinner and got to the fairgrounds at 7pm.  Our truck had already been towed.  The person that called us and the person that arranged the tow truck to come just happened to be the same person that had parked his trailer right where our truck was parked.  Yup – this Fair Board member used his power to secure a parking spot.  (we are working with the Fair Board to receive reimbursement for the $80.00 we had to pay to get our truck back.)

So what do these three things have in common?  They all lack HUMANITY.  Simple, everyday, common respect for the person next to you.  Jesus said that the most important Commandment was to Love God with all of your heart – but that the second most important was to Love Your Neighbor as you love yourself.

Would I have pulled onto the sidewalk without thinking if I had been thinking about something other than my potato cakes getting cold and my concern about getting back through traffic?

Would that man have thought I was afraid of him because of his race if he had never experienced racism?

The Air Force officer died saving the lives of others – Jesus said “greater love has no man but that he lays down his life for another.”  Yet, a group speaking in the name of God protested his funeral today by saying that “God Hates….”

A man in a position of power used that power to get a parking spot.  Let me say that a little different – a man, using his official capacity, had another person’s vehicle towed, so that he could have the parking spot that he wanted.  It cost us $80.00.  ( the very event this guy wanted to see so bad just got cancelled due to wet weather.)

There is an old song called, Eve of Destruction.  It talks about human respect disintegrating and that this whole world is just too frustrating.  I get it.  I get it really, really well.  If we just could learn to love one another – then so much of this crap would end!  Don’t get me wrong – I’m no peace, love, wanna-be flower child  type of person – sometimes there are hard choices to be made.  It is awful hard to be a person of peace when you are getting the crap beat out of you by other people.

I will say that if we don’t start using a little bit of love for our neighbors – this whole damn world is going to go up in smoke – and we will have no one to blame but ourselves.

Jesus loves the little children, All the children of the world, Red and yellow, black and white, we are precious in his sight, Jesus loves the little children of the world.

Joan

One Response to “Strange Days – Race, Death and Tow Trucks”

  1. гонки на грузовиках « Блоголента Says:

    […] enemyinthewire пишет: Strange Days – Race, Death and Tow Trucks. By enemyinthewire. Hello, Friends,. I had a very strange experience at work on Friday. I had decided to run out and grab some lunch – some days I get so sick of brown bagging – you know how it … […]

Leave a Reply

