Ranger Wags Part 5


In October, 1989 SSG Wags transferred to the 34th Signal Company, while I stayed in the current Signal Company. Our MOS (31M) was being done away with, and we hd the choice to go through one year of transitional courses for MSE, or transfer into the 34th Sig Co and learn a new MOS. SSG Wags had tried to convince me to transfer with him, saying that he would ‘take care’ of me if I followed him to 34th Sig Co. I chose to stay in the old Sig Bn, and was glad to be rid of him.

Over the next couple of years, I would see SSG Wags from time to time on drill weekends, and he would always try to talk me into transferring. He was now SFC Wags, and promised that he could really take care of me now if I wanted to transfer. He said he would bet me promoted to E-5 if I came over, and give me easy work, but I refused. He said that it cold be just like old times, but I said that I wasn’t interested. I knew how he wanted to ‘take care’ of me, and I knew that it was a lie that he could get me promoted. He never even put me in for my PFC when I was eligible (and I did not get promoted for having sex with him, thank God), I got my PFC on my own, without any help from him.

Even after I transferred into the FSB, SFC Wags still tried to get me to transfer, and I always refused. In March, 1993, I found out that I had adenocarcinoma of the colon, and in June, 1993, I went inactive until December, 1993. I went out to the Armory on December’s drill to turn in my paperwork to be released from inactive duty There in the orderly room was SFC Wags. I asked him what the hell he was doing there, in our orderly room, and on our drill weekend, not his. He told me that he was the 1SG, and he asked what I was doing there. I thought he was joking. I told him that I was bringing in my paperwork to be released from inactive duty, but had I known that he was the next 1SG, I would have stayed inactive. I was kidding, and I nearly fainted when he told me that he was serious, that he would be our next 1SG.

Stay tuned for the next stomach retching installment of this wonderful story.

Brigid

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

