Out of the Mouths of Babes, Guidance Counselor and Burger King


For a couple of years I have been trying to get my daughter to read through my accordion file. I feel like it is important to know what the real military is like. I did this because a Marine recruiter kept calling, and she was entertaining the thought of enlisting. I told her I would disown her. I it wouldn’t be like the battle I had with my dad, where we didn’t speak to each other for 3 weeks until he signed the papers to let me enlist at 17. I told her that we had no idea what it would be like for women back then, but we do now.

I could never get her to read it. I tried and tried, but she had no interest. She has not ever read this blog either. She knows all about what happened to both Joan and me, but I really wanted her to read the cold, hard truth from my documents. Still she wouldn’t do it. I kind of gave up. She is very proud of me, however, for standing up for myself, for joining the law suit, and for getting ready to do the Comp & Pen.

A few weeks ago she told me that her high school guidance counselor told her that a woman is raped in the military every 14 minutes. He, yes I did say HE, was trying to discourage her, and any other female from joining the armed forces. I didn’t know how to respond to that. My daughter told him about me, and explained that she was worried about her friend Jackie, who had just enlisted in the National Guard. He was very worried about her too. I just can’t get over the fact that a male guidance counselor is talking as many women out of enlisting as he can. I think he deserves a medal.

Anyway, after I posted the conclusion to my Sworn Statement, I finally got her to sit down and take 5 minutes to read it. Almost everything out of her mouth had already been said on here, either by Joan or myself. She was pissed, to put it mildly. She couldn’t believe that I could be blamed for everything, and that on top of that, I had to endure it all in the first place. She has been telling most of her friends and co-workers at Burger King about all of this, and it is very comforting to know that all of them support what we are doing here.

It is amazing the support that civilians are giving us right now. My question is, why aren’t the soldiers doing the same? I always ask that, but seriously. When are our soldiers going to step up and say no more. How can we keep fighting wars that we shouldn’t be in, for other people’s rights and freedom, when we continue to attack our own women and men? Where is the sense of duty and honor? Why can some soldiers stand up for total strangers in a different country, and then turn around and rape their fellow soldiers? And how can others allow it to happen?

Something is really wrong in this world when guidance counselors and fast food workers care more about eliminating MST than the Military does. 

Brigid

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

